Blog Archives

The Best Plays of 2014

The Best Plays of 2014

Edited by Lawrence Harbison


Comical, offbeat, poignant, and fresh, The Best Plays of 2014 (September 2015, Applause Books, $19.99) presents six of the most original plays of the year in a single volume – selected by renowned editor Lawrence Harbison.

  • The Country House, a comedy about a deeply dramatic family, by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Donald Margulies.
  • Dinner with the Boys, an offbeat, dark comedy by Dan Lauria about some old-time wise guys who want to have a good Italian meal and a few laughs – and tie up some loose ends before dessert.
  • Mala Hierba by Tanya Saracho, inspired by Latin American culture, which pits human yearnings against the power of culturally predetermined obligations.
  • Based on true events, Our Lady of Kibeho by Katori Hall was hailed as the “most important new play of the year!” by Terry Teachout of The Wall Street Journal.
  • When January Feels Like Summer by Cori Thomas presents five lives colliding as a feeling of change hums in the air during one strangely warm winter in Central Harlem.
  • Year of the Rooster (a New York Times Critics’ Pick) by Eric Dufault a fiercely comic play about cockfighting, connections, and clawing your way to the top.


5.6″ x 8.5″
408 pages
Applause Theatre & Cinema Books, an imprint of Hal Leonard Corporation


Lawrence Harbison was is charge of new play acquisition for Samuel French, Inc., for more than 30 years, during which time his work on behalf of playwrights resulted in the publication of hundreds of plays by playwrights such as Jane Martin, Don Nigro, Tina Howe, Theresa Rebeck, Jerry Steiner, William Mastrosimone, Charles Fuller, and Ken Ludwig, among many others. He is the author of Best Contemporary Monologues for Men 18-35, Best Contemporary Monologues for Women 18-35, and 25 10-Minute Plays for Teens. His column, “On the Aisle with Larry,” is a regular feature at He is a member of the Outer Critics Circle as well as the Drama Desk and was a member of the Drama Desk Nominating Committee for the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 seasons. He lives in Ann Arbor, Mich.