Confessions of a Serial Songwriter

Shelly Peiken, author of Confessions of a Serial Songwriter, coming in March from Applause Books, has given us an insight into her journey of making her book a reality on her blog at shellypeiken.com. It wasn’t an easy journey and it certainly wasn’t quick either but that hasn’t stopped her from making it happen. Take a look at what she had to say about her journey, below!


COASS-Final_CVR_152159We songwriters are like children. We start talking about things way too early. Like a new tune that P!nk might record or an upcoming single. When we’re excited about something we just can’t help it. It’s in our nature.

For instance, I’ve been yapping about my book “Confessions of a Serial Songwriter” for over a year now.  When I embarked on my journey I had no idea what I was doing or how to even get started. Much like how I felt when I wrote my first song. Stumble. Fall. Get up. Stumble again. Keep going. All I knew is that I was confused by a changing music business and I felt a need to write about it and tell everyone that I was doing so.

Well, I thought sure I’d have the book out by last March but was humbled to find that the completion of a book is a lot more complicated than a 3 minute song. You keep thinking you’re finished. But you’re not.

When I thought I was finished for the fifth time, I sent my manuscript into Backbeat Books, a publisher whose passion is music, songwriters, musicians. I felt sure Backbeat would be the perfect home for my story.

Crickets.

So I went on to Plan B: I’d find an agent who could make proper introductions to publishers. Of particular interest to me was a woman whose name I’d seen credited in several music related publications: Ronny Schiff. But Ronny had no website. No Facebook Page. She was un-findable. Next!


Read the rest of her story over at her blog, Shellypeiken.com/blog

About HLPAPG

Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group, the trade book division of Hal Leonard Corporations, publishes books on the performing arts under the imprints Hal Leonard Books, Backbeat Books, Amadeus Press, and Applause Theatre and Cinema Books.

Posted on November 16, 2015, in Music Industry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

