Q&A with Robert Blumenfeld

Robert Blumenfeld, author of Teach Yourself Accents: Europe, chats with The Playbill Collector about his new book on April 4th. Click here for the full interview!

What is your background in dialect coaching?

 I studied French as an undergraduate at Rutgers where I also studied German and Italian and got into accents and dialects there.  I continued my French studies in grad school at Columbia, and took courses in phonetics and teaching French, including the accent. When I got into professional acting, I also started coaching accents. And I have taught accents at professional studios, and done private and production coaching.  I use lots of accents in my various audiobook recordings.  Audio recording is the majority of where I spend my time now.

When was your first book released?

In 1998 I released “Accents: A Manual for Actors”.

What was the main reason for writing your newest book “Teach Yourself Accents: Europe“?

The book is for a new generation of actors.  I wanted to provide something that has an easy method to follow.

Who is your target audience?

Younger actors but the series is equally useful to seasoned professional actors and amateurs.

00109570Teach Yourself Accents: Europe, A Handbook for Young Actors and Speakersthe third volume in dialect coach Robert Blumenfeld’s new series on accents, covers the European accents most useful for the stage and screen: French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, and Yiddish. The most important features of each accent are detailed, enabling the actor to begin immediately to sound authentic, and Mr. Blumenfeld’s unique approach makes the accents easily comprehensible.

 

About HLPAPG

Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group, the trade book division of Hal Leonard Corporations, publishes books on the performing arts under the imprints Hal Leonard Books, Backbeat Books, Amadeus Press, and Applause Theatre and Cinema Books.

Posted on April 7, 2014, in Theatre and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

