If You Like the Ramones…

If You Like the Ramones…

Here Are over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

by Peter Aaron

Available October 2013

 Website | More If You Like Books

MONTCLAIR, NJ—Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group presents If You Like the Ramones… (Backbeat Books, Oct. 2013, $16.99) by Peter Aaron, the newest volume in the If You Like series of pop culture connectivity. The If You Like series seeks out the influences on, contemporaries of, and those inspired by one particular subject, in an effort to recommend great bands, albums, and films for fans who can’t get enough. And what better band to start from than the Ramones? The band’s essence was the desire to create great, liberating rock ’n’ roll in the spirit and tradition of the same artists who inspired them, to celebrate the medium by being aggressive, melodic, dead simple, impossibly catchy, and really, really funny (in a darkly twisted way, of course), quite often all within the same song. Perhaps the most imitated band of all time, the Ramones stripped rock ’n’ roll down to its bare bones and beating heart and handed it back to the people, making it fun again and reminding everyone that, hey, they could do this, too.

But “da brudders” didn’t just influence their key comrades in the original punk explosion. Their raw, tough sound and divine gift of enduring, melodic songcraft have power-drilled their way into musical styles as divergent as college rock, power pop, hardcore punk, thrash metal, grunge, and the avant-garde, and they continue to be felt in newer waves of young acts. And what about the music that influenced the Ramones themselves—early rock ’n’ roll, surf rock, British Invasion sounds, garage rock, girl groups, hard rock, bubblegum, proto-punk, and glam rock? Or the nonmusical stuff that also warped the skulls beneath those trademark bowl haircuts—weird movies, cartoons, trashy TV shows, comic books, and other cultural jetsam? If You Like the Ramones… has it all. It’s just waiting for you to discover and dig. Hey Ho, Let’s Go!

 

Peter_aaron_by_jennifer_may-6615[1]Peter Aaron is the music editor of Chronogram magazine and the frontman of the influential New York punk blues band the Chrome Cranks. His writing has appeared in the Village Voice, the Boston Herald, and other publications, and online at AllMusic and All About Jazz. In the 1980s, he promoted early concerts by Nirvana, the Flaming Lips, White Zombie, and others. He lives in Hudson Valley, NY, and is available for interview. 

October 2, 2013
9781617134579
$16.99
Paperback
5.25″ x 8.25″
192 pages
photos throughout

Backbeat Books is an imprint of Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group

IYLramonesCover

Advertisements

About HLPAPG

Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group, the trade book division of Hal Leonard Corporations, publishes books on the performing arts under the imprints Hal Leonard Books, Backbeat Books, Amadeus Press, and Applause Theatre and Cinema Books.

Posted on September 9, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: