If You Like True Blood…

If You Like True Blood…

Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love
by Dave Thompson

Website | Author Blog | Author Facebook | Author Twitter | Author Interview

A bloodsucking bounty of pop-culture vampires from Bon Temps and beyond.

MONTCLAIR, NJ—People have been reading, writing, and conjuring fictional vampires for over two centuries. They have been talking about them for even longer. You could fill a small-town library with every book about vampires. You could spend a lifetime watching vampire movies and TV shows and die of old age before you reach the end. (True Blood alone would devour three straight days without breaking to eat or sleep.) No matter how much the vampire buff you claim to be, there are always new things to discover.

If You Like True Blood… (Limelight Editions, June 2013, $16.99), by Dave Thompson, recommends more than 200 new-to-you movies, shows, stories, and songs for those whose thirst for vampires can’t be quenched. Thompson, who admits to vampire hunting in Highgate Cemetery as a youth, covers a wide range of vampiric topics, including undead through the ages, vampires in English literature, erotica, gothic rock, great movie Draculas, female vampires, and the classic horror-cinema output of the Hammer Films studio.

Anne Rice, Doctor Who, Alice Cooper, The Addams Family, even Marvel Comics—all these and more flit not-so-silently through these pages, as do real-life human monsters like Vlad the Impaler and the Countess Bathory. Exclusive interview material stirs fresh plasma into the pot. The book also contains useful sidebars of vampire rock songs, destinations, and killing methods as well as appendices that stake out the best movie and literary vampires out there.

If You Like True Blood… offers up a wealth of characters, a host of creatures, and a world that has slipped beyond the shadows of our own to populate itself with some of humanity’s oldest and most powerful nightmares—or fantasies.

DAVETHOMPSON

 

Dave Thompson (Newark, DE) is the British-born author of over 100 books on music, television, and pop culture, including biographies of David Bowie, Winona Ryder, James Taylor, and John Travolta, as well as the latest, Doctor Who FAQ and If You Like Bob Marley…. He has long nursed a secret vein of gothic fascination and has amassed a vast library of vampire-related books and movies, which are kept in a suitably dark room, far from anything resembling garlic. Visit his blog at davethompsonbooks.wordpress.com. He is available for interview.

June 11, 2013
$16.99
Paperback
5.25” x 8.25”
192 pages
9780879108113
Limelight Editions, an imprint of Hal Leonard

Print

If You Like series

“The premise is Pandora-esque and incredibly effective. This series recruits experts in various fields to pen books chronicling the relevant befores and afters of a major pop culture sensation, and recommending to its fans what else would appeal to them.… If You Like is the real deal.”                                                                                                                                                                                                            –Film.com

Visit ifyoulike.halleonardbooks.com for more If You Like titles, which cover the Beatles, The Sopranos, The Terminator, Monty Python, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, Quentin Tarantino, and Bob Marley.

 

Advertisements

About HLPAPG

Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group, the trade book division of Hal Leonard Corporations, publishes books on the performing arts under the imprints Hal Leonard Books, Backbeat Books, Amadeus Press, and Applause Theatre and Cinema Books.

Posted on May 30, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: