If You Like Bob Marley…

If You Like Bob Marley…

Here Are over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

by Dave Thompson

WebsiteAuthor Blog | Author Facebook | Author Twitter | Read an Excerpt

When reggae first raised its head in the world of rock ’n’ roll, a lot of people laughed…then came Bob Marley.

MONTCLAIR, NJ (April 22, 2013) – Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group presents If You Like Bob Marley… (Backbeat Books, June 2013, $16.99), the newest volume in the If You Like series of pop culture connectivity. Author Dave Thompson is no stranger to the reggae scene, and the sheer amount of information within the book will delight any true Bob Marley fan. Thanks to the unique format of the If You Like series, readers will uncover facts not only about the King of Reggae himself but also about the history of reggae’s influence on the music industry as a whole.

Using Bob Marley as the starting point, Thompson connects Jamaica’s star-studded musical history to modern artists all over the world. Chapter after chapter profiles the many talented people who helped put reggae on the map, from Eric Clapton to Curtis Mayfield to Black Uhuru. There are dozens of famous genre-spanning Marley covers, and enough music to keep listeners engaged for months. Thompson also includes a roundup of films that any reggae fan will want to see. The book lends itself to further exploration, and reggae enthusiasts of all levels will find themselves eagerly searching through the “100 Albums You Must Hear” or “150 Songs We Forgot to Mention” detailed in the appendices.

If you thought you knew everything there was to know about Bob Marley and the colorful history that surrounds him, think again. Then open If You Like Bob Marley… and learn just what you’ve been missing. 

DAVETHOMPSON

 

Dave Thompson (Newark, DE), the British-born author of over 100 rock and pop culture books, has been listening to reggae since the first burst of Trojan ska hit the UK chart in the late 1960s. In 2003, his encyclopedic Reggae and Caribbean Music (Backbeat Books) won the ARSC award for Best Research in Recorded Folk or Ethnic Music. He is also the author of the acclaimed 2-Tone ska/punk history Wheels Out of Gear, and has covered the music for Goldmine, Alternative Press, and All Music Guide. He is available for interview. 

June 11, 2013
$16.99
Paperback Original
5.25” x 8.25”
256 pages
9781476886817
Backbeat Books, an imprint of Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group

IYLbobmarleyCover

Advertisements

About HLPAPG

Hal Leonard Performing Arts Publishing Group, the trade book division of Hal Leonard Corporations, publishes books on the performing arts under the imprints Hal Leonard Books, Backbeat Books, Amadeus Press, and Applause Theatre and Cinema Books.

Posted on May 20, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: